+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 9 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Thread: Aeroksana is attempting to make a doll :)

Aeroksana is attempting to make a doll :)

My dear ED friends!
    Allow me to share my joy with you - I'm in the process of doing a doll! Sculpt it is such a pleasure!

Now I will tell you backstory and pictures of the actual process due to lack of time I will show tomorrow, okay? (And please, forgive me my usual verbosity, heh )

For a year and even more I did not allow myself to do that. I thought - how can I get something out of this? After all, I have no art education, no experience! Yes, as a child I drew something, something sculpted ... But now, to me, an adult, if I do something, it has to be something worthy. And how can turn out something decent, if there is no education and experience? The vicious circle.

When, a year ago, I excitedly told to my loved ones how much I am inspired by Marina and her creativity, her highest criteria of quality, her amazing working capacity - I was asked, and what, you're also going to make dolls? And I answered, No! It even somehow ashamed... There can be no question! I'm going to embroider, I'll be doing a lot of things that were born in my heart, but do not make dolls!

And so I decided to first get the basics of art education. I went on a two-day training seminar. I bought a a textbook on drawing for art students, and paper, and pencils, eraser, and a ductile gum that when you erase does not rub the paper, but absorb pigment.

And I was trying to draw, and I really like it.

I am learning to draw by Aeroksana, on Flickr

But as soon as I picked up this ductile eraser - happened something unexpected! For a few minutes my hands made this -

Calling hand... by Aeroksana, on Flickr

My rational mind does not even have time to react! It surprised me very much. I showed a picture of my blue hand, to a wonderful doll artist (via Internet), and she endorsed my attempt. Told me that I have the makings. ;D