+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Messing around with super sculpey... Damn... people! This is hard as hell

Messing around with super sculpey... Damn... people! This is hard as hell

Hi there!
    I just started to try sculpting a doll face with sculpey... I'm a total amateur, if not a total noob... but I'm loving playing around with this devilish polymer clay! =)

symmetry, anatomy, everything... it's clear this is one of those works where experience and discipline make the difference (also talent of course... but that's for granted)

http://www.pixiv.net/member_illust.p...st_id=45988596

http://www.pixiv.net/member_illust.p...st_id=45988675

As I said I'm a noob at sculpting and I never used polymer clay. I googled around and made an armature. I don't know either if I will have to take the alluminium paper away before baking ><
    Last edited by Totam&clipse; September 15th, 2014 at 12:00 AM.

Excellent job! Especially for a first time

Looks great!
    I have also been doing stuff now with superclay -and I hate the material... It comes too soft and it does not want to stick to woodenbeads... Sometimes I just want to throw the darn pieces on the wall .
    I have left the aliminium paper on for the owen and it worked ok -and In most cases there has been no other way, than to just leave the paper inside.

(At the moment I am wondering if I can take pieces with primer to owen? Or does the primer melt or turn into dangerous gasses? So many things I don't know!)

Thank you so much Fitz and Caracal! ^^

I'm really glad I can leave alluminium paper where it is, otherwise it could be a real mess to remove it before baking ><

Now my only worry is about using the kitchen oven to bake sculpey. I read it contains plastic polimers and mineral oil... maybe covering everything under a glass bell while baking would be of help, preventing the potentially harmful gasses to go away!